Team YP signs Overwatch team

Team YP signs Overwatch team
Mike Stubbs

Controversial eSports organisation Team YP has signed its first Overwatch roster.

The new team features members of the former Team YP Evolve team, who were widely considered to be one of the best in the world. Team captain Chairil “Nightwane” Djoehana, Ronny “Roon” Feuz and David “Spanners” Morley all made the switch from Evolve to Overwatch. Rounding out the six man roster are former pro Rainbow Six players Ben “Meadzz” Mead and Sarmad “JagAren” Jirjes along with Thor Christer Halvorsen “Toorq” Eikeland who has risen to the top of the Overwatch world.

The team have been playing together for a few months under the name Yummy Pepperonis. They have competed in the qualifiers for the ESL Atlantic Showdown and the Overwatch Open, but have failed to come anywhere close to qualifying.

“The switch to a bigger scene like Overwatch was logical and will present us with new opportunities and challenges,” said team Captain Chairil Djoehana. “We hope that with Team YP’s support we will be able to focus on practice in order to climb the competitive ladder.”

“Overwatch has taken the internet by storm,” said Brad Burns, Vice President, Team YP, “We couldn’t be more thrilled by the addition of this game to our ever growing roster.”